James Darrell Phelps

Phelps

Age: 45

Lives: Gettysburg Borough

From: I was born in Gettysburg, but lived in Maryland the majority of my life.

Educated at: University of Maryland, Baltimore County — Criminal Justice

Family: Wife — Siri, Son- Harrison, Daughter -Sullivan

Job: I am a former police officer and currently a private investigator. I am also the owner of Truth Investigation Group LLC (opening early 2020).

Job’s reward: Being able to help clients and their families as needed

Job’s frustrations: Inconsistent case flow at times

Very first job was: Busboy (I only lasted a weekend)

Community Involvement: Lincoln Elementary School parent volunteer, Gettysburg Area Recreation Authority (GARA) board member, Cub Scout Pack 79 Webelos den leader, and Cal Ripken Baseball assistant coach.

Favorite food: Carrot Cake

Pets: Two cats, Statler and Waldorf

Hero: My father — I hope to be half the man and father that he has been and is today.

Hobbies: Fishing, watching my daughter in theatre, dance, and piano, watching my son play soccer, basketball, and baseball. I also enjoy following the Ravens, Orioles (at times), Maryland Terps, and the Celtics.

Pet peeves: People who complain, but do not offer any solutions

Collects: Old bicycles and vinyl records

Best friend: My wife, Siri

Would liked to have witnessed what event in history: Dr. Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream Speech.”

Event that changed your life: Definitely the birth of our children

Your scariest moment: Also, the birth of our children

Your first memory: Riding an old school big wheel

Trait inherited from parents: Putting family first and never giving up

Piece of advice that you live by: You make a living by what you get. You make a life by what you give.

Who needs a hug? My kids, if they want one or not

Favorite reading/author: Kurt Vonnegut, Chuck Klosterman, and Hunter S. Thompson. I also enjoy true crime books as well.

Favorite spot on earth: Eagles Mere, Pa. and Disney World

Website you visit most: Ugh. Unfortunately, Facebook.

Would like concert tickets to see: Leon Bridges

One bad habit: Repeating stories...my wife and friends can attest to this..

3 items on your bucket list: Visit Ireland, drive across the US with my family (Clark Griswold style), and be an audience member at Saturday Night Live.

Five minutes with: My friend Tim Piper (who passed away in 2014).

What skill or lesson would you like to learn? I would like to learn more home improvement skills.

What would people find surprising about you? I am a former multi-time Maryland state champion BMX rider. I also enjoy listening to classical music.

What would make this world a better place? If everyone was actually being treated equally, no matter their race, gender, ethnicity, disability, religion, sexual orientation, and/or age.

What is the best piece of news you received lately that you would like to share? I am opening my own private investigation firm (Truth Investigation Group) early in 2020.

How would you like to be remembered? As a guy who loved his family, friends, and community and always tried his best.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.