Getting to know ... Mary Eastman

Eastman (Jessica A. Rudy/Gettysburg Times)

Name: Mary Eastman

Age: 56

Lives: Above Mom's Coffeepot in Gettysburg

From: Bucks County, Pa.

Educated: In my nana's kitchen and my mom's kitchen, also at 4-H and Home Ec

Family: Husband, Brian; son, John and daughter-in-law Trina; grandson, Kyle; daughter, Mimi and son-in law Dave; grandsons: Landon, Holden and Hudson; exchange children: Edwardo, Misha, Yasawan, Eric, Benoit, Anne, Arnoit, Maike, AJ, Marlene, Isi, Warda, Rachel, Janne, Tina and Iris.

Job: Owner, Mom's Coffeepot

Job's rewards: Helping people with Celiac Disease eat safely, meeting people from all over the world, and making friends

What I hate: Mean people

Very first job: Babysitting neighbor children when I was 9

Favorite Food: Salad made from scratch not out of a bag

Pets: None now. We have had cats, dogs, horses, ponies, a jack ass, rabbits, mice, rats, hamsters, chickens, tropical fish, ducks. The only pet our Mom would not let us have was snakes.

Hero: Cathy Drissel and my sister, Mandy Frymier. These two woman have been through great tragedy, but are both there whenever someone needs them.

Hobbies: Baking, crafts and just being creative

Pet peeves: Dirty dishes left overnight, and spotted mirrors

Collect: Memories

Best friend: My husband, Brian

Would like to have witnessed: My Nana leaving England on a ship at 18 and arriving in the USA all by herself.

Event that changed my life: Having children. I love being a mom and Grammy.

Trait inherited from parents: Strong-willed, they taught me to never give up.

Piece of advice you live by: If at first you don't succeed, switch directions and try, try again.

Favorite reading: Historical novels

Favorite spot on Earth: The beach in Naples, Fla.

Website visited most: Facebook to keep up with friends and family

Would like concert tickets to see: Cher

One bad habit: Correcting people's English

Three items on your bucket list: Seeing a baseball game in all the stadiums in the USA, spending time in every state seeing the sights, visit all of our girls in Germany

Five minutes with: My great-great grandmother, who was a Cherokee Indian

Skill or lesson I would like to learn: I would like to re-learn knitting and crocheting

What would people find surprising about you: I helped to build a couple homes from the bare ground up to the tip of the roof: digging footers, studding walls, mixing concrete and cement, running plumbing and electric, roofing, etc.

What would make this world a better place? If people would just listen.

Best piece of news received lately? Our exchange daughter Maike is getting married.

How do I want to be remembered? As someone who helped

- By Alex J. Hayes, Times Managing Editor

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.