Scholarship winners

The Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Award was presented to four members of the Gettysburg High School Girls Basketball team on Wednesday. From left are: Tom Ryan, treasurer of the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Scholarship Fund Inc.; recipients Cheyenne Proctor, Madison Proctor, Taylor Richardson, and Lily Natter; and Chuck Abbott, scholarship fund committee member.

The Gettysburg girls’ basketball team played its last game more than two months ago, but that did not stop the Warriors from recently scoring perhaps their most important victory of the season.

Gettysburg has been named the 2020 recipient of the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Award. The award, named in honor of former girls’ high school basketball official Gretchen Wolf Swartz, honors one boys’ team and one girls’ team from the YAIAA for sportsmanship on and off the court. The winners were selected by the York Chapter of the PIAA Basketball Officials who each year look for outstanding examples of sportsmanship from players, coaches, fans, staff and cheerleaders in grades 7-12. In addition to two traveling trophies, the award qualifies senior participants from the winning school’s basketball program to apply for a post-secondary scholarship.

Contact Josh Martin at Follow on Twitter at @JoshMartin33.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.