Adams County Council of Governments (ACCOG) selected new officers Thursday, including Danielle Helwig as secretary; Terry Scholle, Mount Joy Township supervisor, as president; Ron Harris, Carroll Valley mayor, as vice president; and Patricia Smith, Fairfield Borough council member, as treasurer. Helwig is the secretary at Butler and Menallen townships. (Vanessa Pellechio Sanders/Gettysburg Times)

Adams County officials may need to hire part-time help after two tax collectors recently resigned, an Adams County commissioner said Thursday.

During an update at the Adams County Council of Governments (ACCOG) meeting, Adams County Commissioner Marty Qually said commissioners accepted two tax collectors’ resignations.

Readers may contact Vanessa Sanders at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.